How We Handle Money Impacts our Relationship with the Lord

Whenever I assess my spending habit, I can always say that I am more of the impulsive, emotional spender. I tend to buy things on impulse, most of the time because of a “false need” – things I presume to be important but realizing after a few days that I can go with life without those.

There are also times when my purchases are prompted by emotions attached to it. I buy things because of silly reasons like “I don’t have the luxury to have this thing when I was a kid” or “having this (or paying for this) will make me feel more important to [insert person’s name here]”.

There are instances as well when I spend on things based on presumptions on the future – that in due time, they will be beneficial to me. Yet time flies and the things remain unused, much more untouched.

I have my own spending personality. Everyone has their own spending personality. But however we spend our God-given resources, How We Handle Money Impacts our Relationship with the Lord.

This is the premise of the first session of the Biblical Financial Study, a ten-part series that I am attending as of writing of this note.

“Therefore if you have not been faithful in the use of worldly wealth, who will entrust the true riches to you?”  Luke 16:11

A question came stirring my mind that night – am I trustworthy enough to be entrusted with “true riches”?

I have this question ringing in my head. I felt guilty. The guilt that does not condemn me, but gives me hope.

One thought on “How We Handle Money Impacts our Relationship with the Lord

Leave a Reply

