Forgiven

5

Day 5: God says you are…

FORGIVEN

A blogger friend was asked whether she has tried forgiving someone who caused her so much pain in the past and how was it. Her response is like one of those in the beauty pageants:

“Excruciating pain. Pero sobrang liberating at empowering. Sobrang luwag sa pakiramdam at sa puso. Mind-blowing din kasi na-realize kong “eto pala ang tunay na kahulugan ng love–you still choose the person (and accept the reality of the situation) kahit na anupaman ang nangyari.”

On one occasion or another, we will find ourselves in a situation where people will insult, offend and take advantage of us either physically or emotionally. Some are mean and intentional in their offensive acts; some are just confused or naive that they are being offensive. Whatever the intention, the Bible tells us to forgive.

Is it really easy to forgive? I tell you, NO. I was once bullied, shaming me that I don’t have anything to prove, I can never get anywhere. I rehearsed that incident again and again on my mind until it became a motivation that someday I’ll prove that person wrong. That I can do well with my studies, that I can achieve something I can be proud of. Jesus took a lot of work on my heart, pruning all the rough edges that need to be smoothened out. It took time until I finally forgave the person.

It is not easy to forgive but we are instructed to. Jesus took a lot of pain and suffering on the cross to redeem us from our sins and forgive us. His death gave us forgiveness, so no matter how hard we try to justify our desire not to forgive those who trespass against us, we will always go back to the premise that we, ourselves have been forgiven by the Lord.

Do you ever know how much the Lord has forgiven you? It is as if you have never sinned. He made our scarlet-red sins and washed it as white as snow. That’s how the Lord forgives – He remembers our sins no more.

“As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.”

Psalm 103:12

 

Leave a Reply

